Spelt - Organic
The origin of Spelt has been traced all the way back to the first cultivations of grain, around 500 BC. Today, it has found its niche in the human food industry as a substitute for wheat or other gluten containing grains. Though Spelt is not gluten free, many who have allergic reactions to wheat are able to consume Spelt and still enjoy a diet with grain protein and soluble fiber. Spelt is a little tougher to bake with than whole wheat flours (it often produces a denser crumb), but most bakers manage predictable results in a range of applications, with very delicious results.